Tirumala Tirupati Temple

Tirupathi is one of the most famous temples of Andhra Pradesh. It is situated in Chittor district of Andhra Pradesh. Lord Venkateswara is the incarnation of Lord Vishnu  and this is a self manifested temple (Swambhu). There are seven hills at Tirumal and Lord Venkateswara is on the Seventh Hill( Venkatadri). Tirupathi is also called as Venkatachalam and Lord of Seven Hills (Eedukondalaswamy).

The names of the seven hills are as follows:

1. seshadri,
2. Neeladri,
3. Garudadri.

These hills starting from Tirupathi, Srikalahasthi, Ahobilam to Srisailam will be in the form the serpent Adisesha.

1.Tirumala Seven hills resembles the head  (seven hoods) of the serpent Adisesha

2.Srikalahasthi resembles the Fangs of the Serpent

3.Ahobilam of Narasihma Swamy temples is the center of Adisesha   and

4. Srisaislam is the tail of the Adisesha.

The place surrounding to the  temple is called as Mada Veedhulu (Holy Streets). The village around the hill is called Tirumala ( Tiru means Holy and Mala means Hill) and the town down the hill is called Tirupathi.

Offering Hair: Tonsuring, offering hair to God is a ritual in Tirumala as like any other Hindu Temple. It is believed that the hair offered by the devotees at Tirumala will reach Neeladevi, who has offered hair to Lord Venkatewara when he got wounded at the head.

Lord Venkateswara also called as Srinivasa, Balaji is the God of Kaliyuga (Kaliyuga Daivam).This is the only temple having the one idol of vishnu  (Eka Murthy Temple) in the entire world as all remaining temples have sub dieties. Lord Venkateswara stands on gold plated Lotus pedastal with Lakshmi Devi on right chest and Padmavathi Devi on Left chest. A unique idol to embrace the presence of God. This is the second largest temple visited by most number of piligrims in a day after Anantha Padmanabha swamy temple of Kerala and one of the richest temples of the world. This temple is managed by a separate entity called Tirumala Tirupathi Devasthanams(TTD). 

Tirumala was originally Adi Varaha Kshetra, with Lord Varaha Swamy Temple, later with his permission Lord Venkateswara took residence here. Piligrims have to vist Lord Varaha swamy before visiting Lord Venkateswara.Whoever visits the Tirumala has to follow a sequence in visiting the temples. 

The sequence is as follows.
1. Swami Pushkarini
2. Lord Varahaswami
3. Lord Venkateswara.
4. Alivelu Mangapuram
5. Govindaraja swamy temples.

Vimana Venkateswara Swami: 

After having the darshanam of Lord Venkateswara all devotees visit VimanaVenkateswara who will be in the middle of the 3 tier gopuram. The idol here is surrounded by silver Thoranam and is believed that Vyasateertha worshipped this idol for 12 years. 

Vishvaksena Temple: Vishvaksena is believed to be the chief of army Lord (Senadhipathi) and is worshipped before starting any rituals. During the daily rituals the garlands of Lord Venkateswara are removed and Vishvaksena is worshipped with them..

There is  Sri Yoga Narasimha Swamy Temple and 

Garuda Temple: Garda is the Vahana (Vehicle ) of Lord Vishnu. This temple is with Garuda with streatched wings.

The dities in the temple:

Moolavirat (Dhruva Beeram): The main idol Lord Venkateswara.

Bhoga Srinivasa: This diety receives all bhogas (worldly rituals) which the Moolavirat has.

Ugra Srinivasa: This idol represents the anger part of the Lord and remains inside.

Utsava Beeram: This diety is called Malayappa Swami with Sridevi and Bhudevi and is taken out for processions during Utsavas. Regural rituals, like Sahasradeepalakarana Seva, Dolostavam are performed to this diety regularly.

Koluvu Srinivasa: This is a Panchaloha idol and is the guardian diety of the temple for financial and economic affairs.

The most famous temple of South India, which gives boons to the devotees.

Feel free to post your Comments and Feedback.

Happy Piligrimage. 

Popular posts from this blog

How to cut a saree blouse (easy method)

Sri Siddhi Vinayaka Temple , Zaheerabad.

Sri Varaha Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple Simhachalam